Dear mum in detention

Dear mum in Detention

Happy Mother’s Day.Image

Today as my children wake me up with their buttery fingers and vegemite smeared faces, I will think of when you woke your children up to get on a boat you weren’t sure any of you would survive, because you knew that it was your only hope for a life.

Today as we head off to church dressed in our best, I will remember that you ran fleeing from your home, with your children tucked under your arm because of your beliefs.

Today as I open my present, purchased with gold coins given out by daddy at the school Mother’s day stall, I will remember the day when you watched your family walk to the market and never return because someone decided to strap a bomb to their chest.

Today as I laugh and snuggle my toddler and kick the ball freely with my son, I will remember the day that tears streamed down your face as you told your children that they would never see their friends again.

Today as I enjoy a home made scone with strawberry jam and a cup of tea, I will remember the days you spent at sea, watching your scared and sick children, but with hope in your heart because you were bringing them to Australia.

Today as I read the card with rough etchings of Dear Mummy, I love you written on it, I will remember the day when you were told you didn’t have the documents to come to Australia and that it didn’t matter that you had never been given a birth certificate because you were born a girl.

Today as I call our my children’s names as they play on the swings and slides, I will remember that your child is not known by the name you carefully chose for him, but by a number. I will remember that your child doesn’t have a playground to play on, or toys for that matter.

Today as I kiss my precious babies, stroking their hair off their face and willing them a good nights sleep, I will remember that you are separated from your sick newborn, your baby born too early and alone in a hospital far away.

Today as I give thanks for all that I have been blessed with, a comfortable home, a husband who supports us financially, a Dr to go to, food in my fridge, education and toys for my children…and yet ask God for more, I will remember that you are giving thanks for a roof over your head even though it leaks. For food in your children’s bellies, even though it is not enough. For a safe place to sleep, even though cockroaches and mice crawl over you. For the space your child has and what he is learning, even though he still doesn’t go to school and doesn’t have any toys. For the hope you have, even though it is fading fast.

I know that you, just like me, held your first born baby in your arms. You squeezed him tight, but not too tight because you didn’t want to hurt him and you told him that all the hours of unbearable pain, the uncertainty and the fear of childbirth was all worth it because he was the most precious thing you had ever seen. And whether you said it our loud or in your heart, you knew you would do it all over again and that you would go to the ends of the earth to protect this tiny little baby, your baby, if you had too.

I wonder in that moment if you ever believed you would actually have to go to the ends of the earth? That you would take risks that you  didn’t know existed for the sake of giving your child a life…not necessarily a better life, but a life. 

Dear mum in detention, you are not just a mum like me, you are far more then I am, for you have been tested over and over, you have strength that I have never had to know.

Today, as I enjoy my day, I hope you enjoy your day too, and I hope that tomorrow we can build a better future for our children together because no child should grow up in detention.

You have done all you can for your child, your love has made a way. My hope now is that Australiathat we…that I… will do all that I can for your child, because we mums belong together. We have one shared hope and desire, and that is to see our children grow up to be all that they can be.

Happy mother’s day to you

xx

For more information about children in detention please check our Chilout

No matter where you stand on the refugee issue, surely you can agree that children do not belong in detention. Period. Let’s take a stand mums….if you have an idea, no of something happening or want to be a part of advocating for #kidslikemine, please leave a comment.

A final word.

Image

 

Leave a Reply

