Overwhelmed

We are blessed.
Whatever it is you are doing, whatever it is that you are worried about…
stop for a moment and say,
“I am blessed.”

I can not speak for you but if you are reading this…you are blessed by having had an education.
If you are reading this, then it also means that you have access to electricity, or technology.
You are blessed.

I can’t speak for you but I enjoyed a lovely, healthy home cooked meal and will soon settle down for a hot chocolate and piece of cake.
I am blessed.

I can’t speak for you but my kids are snuggled in their cosy beds, in their individual rooms, surrounded by their many toys and have a selection of clean clothes to wear tomorrow.
I am blessed.

As I sign off tonight I will go and sit down (with my hot chocolate and cake) and watch from the comfort of my living room the plight of millions of people in this world, my world that will never experience all the blessings I have. The tears will roll down my cheeks as I watch the children living in makeshift camps, surrounded by gun fire, not by toys and schools and safe places for them to grow.

I am blessed.

Go and watch #Go Back where you came from on SBS and I hope and pray that you will have Compassion.
I hope and pray that Australia will have Compassion.
This isn’t an intellectual conversation. This is a human rights conversation.
I am blessed.
We are blessed.
Now let’s have Compassion.

One thought on “Overwhelmed

Leave a Reply

