Are you richer or poorer today?

Have you checked out if you will be richer or poorer after today’s budget announcement in Australia?
From the little bit I have seen, looks like we will have a tiny bit more in our pockets! Unfortunetely, the same can not be said for Foreign Aid and Development.
The government had promised to increase the amount to foreign aid in the National Budget from 0.3% to 0.5%. Today, they have chosen instead to delay this promise another year.
It had been reported that the government would cut aid, or delay it for 5 years, so today’s news isn’t as bad as it could have been.
BUT…. for 290 000 people, this inaction is as good as a death sentence!

Micah Challenge, Get Up, the Oaktree foundation and others are urging Australians to stand up and to not allow 290 000 people to die in devastating poverty.
All you have to do is copy and paste this email to Julie Bishop, the shadow foreign minister. Here is her email address Julie.Bishop.MP@aph.gov.au

Please…just take a moment.

I was hungry. And you gave me something to eat. I was thirsty. And you gave me something to drink. I was a stranger. And you invited me in. 36 I needed clothes. And you gave them to me. I was sick. And you took care of me. I was in prison. And you came to visit me.’

37 “Then the people who have done what is right will answer him. ‘Lord,’ they will ask, ‘when did we see you hungry and feed you? When did we see you thirsty and give you something to drink? 38 When did we see you as a stranger and invite you in? When did we see you needing clothes and give them to you? 39 When did we see you sick or in prison and go to visit you?’

40 “The King will reply, ‘What I’m about to tell you is true. Anything you did for one of the least important of these brothers of mine, you did for me.’
Matthew 25

Dear Julie

I urge you to take a stand and to not follow the government’s lead to dip into the foreign Aid Budget.
290 000 lives will be affected, many of these people will now die because of the breaking of a promise to increase foreign aid.
Don’t allow Australia to balance the budget on the back of the world’s poor.

Please hold firm on your commitment to put aside just 0.5% of our national budget to help the world’s poorest people, including our closest neighbours. It is a commitment to save hundreds of thousands of lives, educate millions of girls and boys, and spread democracy and safety in our region. It is a commitment worth keeping.

With hope,

Leave a Reply

