Anyone else could, but no one else will.

It is Sunday, and like many Sundays I headed off to church this morning, but unlike most Sunday’s, I sat through the service on my own, with no baby or child to fuss over and distract me from the message. I sat through the whole message for the first time in months. Luckily….it was a good one 🙂
There were many parts that I have taken away but what struck me the most was a story about Moody, a 19th century Evangelist. (At least I think he was 19th century…)
The story goes that Moody was the headline speaker at a big conference in London and just before he was due to speak, no one could find him. He was lost. Upon discovering him in an old decrepit apartment building looking after a sick woman and a sick baby the conference committee asked him what on earth he was doing. I can just imagine them, all flustered, ties loose, wind swept hair, furrowed brows, wondering what on earth the thousands of people who are waiting are going to say when they discover the person they have come to hear is lost. One of them says to Moody, “Anyone can help this woman, why are you?” And Moody says, “Yes, anyone could help this woman but no one else will.”

Last night I spent a couple of hours with a very mature 16 year old and somewhere along the line I said something and her response led me to believe what I had said had something of wisdom to it. We were talking about how there are so many causes out in the world, heck there are enough causes just in our community that are vying for our attention. If you look at just a few of them it can be hard not to feel totally desolate. Depressed at all that needs to be done. I have said before that I have a bit of a Saviour complex. I want to make everything better for everyone. I want to change the world! Make it a better place then how I found it. But this is impossible. We have lives to live and washing to do and kids to raise and our attention can not go to 10 different, yet very worthy projects!
It can also be easy to think that this is not our problem. Someone else could help. Someone else should help. But as Moody said. “Anyone else could help, but no one else will.”
My gem of wisdom is to choose something. What are you passionate about? What does your heart bleed for. What gets you so angry you want to punch someone out about?
Choose something, one thing that you are going to stick your neck out for and put your time and effort into it. Do something to make it better. If that is advocating for women’s choices, or speaking out for justice or being a voice for those who can’t speak for themselves, whatever it is, choose one thing and be that difference.

Next week we will celebrate Easter, when “Jesus came alive again” as my kids dutifully recite! On Good Friday we will remember back to Jesus on the cross dying for our sins and on Sunday we will eat too much chocolate and hot cross buns as we join together and joyfully think about the life we have with Jesus now. Yet….Jesus lived a life before Easter. He came with one agenda. To show this world a never ending, never giving up, always and forever love. He did this in many different ways and he asked his disciples to do the same. We can’t fix the whole world by ourselves but if each of us takes up our cross, whatever it is that we are willing to die for (figuratively I hope!) we can make someone’s life better and show that never ending, never giving up, always and forever love.

Leave a Reply

