I want to be that mum…

I want to be that mum who has each of her babies baby books filled in completely…
I want to be that mum who remembers that funny things her kids say (or at least remembers to write them down!)
I want to be that mum who gets creative with her kids…who has scrapbooks of her children’s art.
I want to be that mum who is patient with her kids and always has a wise way of dealing with a frustrating situation.
I want to be that mum who makes organic homemade food all the time. Who understands about additives and how much protein, carbs and dairy her child consumes.
I want to be that mum who grows her own veggies!
I want to be that mum who can homeschool while having a baby, heck I want to be that mum who could homeschool at all!

I want to be that mum who’s house is clean, clothes are ironed and all with natural, chemical free products!
The mum who is respected by her kids, stays in contact with her friends and makes time for her husband.

I want to be that mum who brushes her hair and puts on makeup before she leaves the house.

So much pressure on myself…and it is all from myself!
I don’t know where it comes from or when it started but being ‘That mum’ just isn’t possible!

I think I do a pretty good job of being mum. My husband says I am great 🙂
I know I do a lot and sometimes it can be hard for me to not judge others to my standards. Maybe this is where it starts…us mums trying to keep up with each other!
This digital, sharing world that we live in with constant updates from others not only of what they are doing, but tweets of the action to advocate for something else or pinning of awesome creative crafts ideas and birthday cakes….while I LOVE it, and can totally get swept up in the cuteness of little butterfly cupcakes or latest fair trade action plan…it is also exhausting.

I also want to be that mum who can stay away from the computer for a day…or a week…

It’s ok that I’m not that mum. And it’s ok that you’re not that mum!
What I need to be is a mum who is interested and available to my kids. Someone they feel safe with. Someone who is going to spend the hard years with them and put in the hard yards to see them become self sufficient, community minded people, God loving people.
I guess I should stop trying to be ‘That’ mum and be the best Adley’s mum, Nevaeh’s Mum and Caden’s Mum that I can be. Cause no one else is going to do it.

….and I would just kill the veggies anyway 🙂

2 thoughts on “I want to be that mum…

  1. Pingback: The other kind of mum… | Wife Mother Woman’s Weblog

Leave a Reply

